Saturday, July 23, 2011

Scribe Awards

The Scribe Awards from the International Association of Media Tie-In Writers were presented last night. Ghosts of Ascalon did not win (alas), but congratulations to the winners:

Best Novel, General Fiction: Saving Grace: Tough Love, by Nancy Holder
Best Novel, Speculative Fiction: Warhammer: Bloodborn: Ulrika the Vampire, by Nathan Long
Best Adaptation/Novelization: The Wolfman, by Jonathan Maberry
Best Novel, Original or Adapted, Young Adult: Dungeons and Dragons: Aldwyns Academy: Nathan Meyer.

Here's the press release:
The winners of the Scribe Awards, honoring excellence in media tie-in writing, were awarded Friday at a ceremony at Comic-Con in San Diego by the International Association of Media Tie-in Writers   Author Peter David was honored as this year's Grandmaster, and engaged in a lively discussion about his career, and tie-in writing, at the ceremony, which was hosted by Max Allan Colins and drew a packed house. 
Nancy Holder won the award for best original novel in the general fiction category for Saving Grace: Tough Love.  The honors for best original novel in speculative fiction went to Nathan Long for Warhammer: Bloodborn: Ulrika the Vampire. This is the second time Long has won a Scribe for his work in the Warhammer franchise. 
The Wolfman by Jonathan Maberry snagged the Best Adaptation/Novelization award while  Nathan Meyer won for Best Novel, Original or Adapted, in the Young Adult category with Dungeons and Dragons: Aldwyns Academy.

More later,